top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBRE

Felt Leaf Garland


#Fall Decor #DIY Garland


I got the idea for this leaf garland years ago from a children's book called Bear Stays up for Christmas by Karma Wilson illustrated by Jane Chapman. Its a fun story about a bears friends keeping him awake so he won't miss Christmas. Well in one of the pictures of the bears lair is a leaf garland. The leaves are strung through a string which is originally what I was going to do but with mine I thought it looked to much like feathers. So instead I hot glued them.


First get your supplies, all my felt its just the felt squares you can find easily in the craft isle in fallish colors. (and I guess fallish is not a actual word...) And some twine. You will also need scissors and a hot glue gun.





Second cut out your leaves. I do this by hand with no pattern because that takes to much time and leaves are not all the same anyway they are different sizes and shapes and I did not want them uniformed. Depending on how long your twine is and how full you want your garland to be will change how many leaves to cut out. I cut out 53 leaves.




Next get your twine. I measured my twine before I started gluing, I knew I wanted this garland to go above this mirror so I cut it to drape above the mirror. My twine was 5 feet long.


Glue your leaves on like this:






I also folded them over the twine as well. Pinching your leaves different directions on the twine and folding them over gives the garland variety and fullness. Just keep this in mind while your working so you know how you want your garland to look.


Once you have them all glued on and your happy with your garland, your done. :)




Happy crafting! And Happy (almost) Fall!!



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page