top of page
Search
Writer's pictureBRE

Painting with Watercolors {White Flowers}



I love to paint, I find it relaxing. Watercolors are by far my favorite medium to use. If you have never painted with watercolors they can be tricky, just don't give up.




Here is where we start, I've got my partial picture I used to paint from, then I lightly drew onto my watercolor paper.





Start with the background, almost always start in the back and work forward. So for the back ground just add color here and there and let it mix. Put in the green in the middle just a solid light green. Now let it dry. Don't skip the drying.




Work on the middle of the flowers now. For the out of focus flowers I just dabbed in dark green, for the focus flower I started with a yellow/green and made dots, and let it dry. Then went back in with the dark green.


Start with the back flowers those out of focus flowers. For the shadow I mixed the background color with white. Lay lines of your color down then go back with just water and work those sharp edges out, don't be afraid to leave the paper showing.




Now the last flower, use that same color and just add some lines for shadows, most of this flower was not painted just left for the watercolor paper to show. Add some darker shadows to give it good depth, going back to your other flowers and adding the dark. The paint on the paper can still be worked with even after drying, just add water, just be careful doing this sometimes you can lift color off or work the paper to much.


Something remember when painting to know where your light is coming from, in this picture the light if coming from the right side, and the shadows show that.


Hope you give it a try. Keep in touch to see more paintings.


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commenti


bottom of page